Fourth annual Community Celebration held in honor of the Class of 2017

The Class of 2017 celebrated their achievements at the fourth annual Community Celebration on the Health Sciences Campus on May 13. Forty-three students, along with their friends and family, gathered for this momentous occasion. Special guests included Former Chancellor Hank Huckaby, Secretary of State Brian Kemp, Representative Chuck Williams (HD-119), Medical College of Georgia Dean David Hess, University of Georgia Provost Pamela Whitten, and University of Georgia Vice Provost for Academic Affairs Russell Mumper.

The ceremony began with a processional led by Campus Dean Michelle Nuss along with the Medical Partnership Faculty. Dean Nuss provided the welcoming remarks to the Community Celebration attendees and served as the host of the event. Medical Partnership student Aaron Purser was selected by his fellow classmates to provide the Moment of Reflection speech on behalf of the Class of 2017. Following this, Former Chancellor Hank Huckaby provided remarks on behalf of the Athens community and congratulated the many accomplishments of this class, as well as the entire Medical Partnership team.

Medical Partnership faculty member, Dr. Suzanne Lester, provided the keynote address at the Community Celebration. She was selected by the Class of 2017 for this honor and provided both humorous and sound advice for the graduates. The ceremony concluded with the presentation of the class gift by SGO President, Palmer Feibelman, and Vice President, Kenneth Sack.

Following graduation, the Medical College of Georgia students attending the Medical Partnership campus will be going to 18 different states in 18 different specialties. Thirty-two percent will stay in Georgia, and forty percent will attend primary care residencies.

For more information about attending the Medical College of Georgia at the Medical Partnership campus

Learn More Apply Now