Internal Medicine Residency Program graduates seventh class

On Friday, June 14, the seventh class of the Augusta University/University of Georgia Medical Partnership Internal Medicine Residency Program in partnership with St. Mary’s Health Care System celebrated their graduation at the University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education and Hotel.

The night began with a dinner buffet followed by opening remarks from Medical Partnership campus dean, Dr. Michelle Nuss.

“To our graduates, you should be so proud, and your families should be so proud. This is a major milestone,” said Nuss. “We want to make you the best doctors you can be when you leave this program, and we hope you feel good about the work you’ve done while here.”

Nuss was followed by Stonish Pierce, St. Mary’s Health Care System’s president and CEO.

“I want to leave you with three takeaways,” said Pierce. “Remember why you became a physician, be you, and give back.”

Dr. Vance Barksdale, co-chief resident, is departing the program to be an academic hospitalist in Virginia, and Dr. Krishna Shah, co-chief resident, will be headed to Pennsylvania for a pulmonary critical care fellowship.

Six of the 11 residents from the Class of 2024 are staying in Georgia, and three additional graduates are staying in surrounding states in the Southeast.


The Class of 2024

Laasya Cherukuri, MD: Primary Care— Athens, Georgia

Yoonhee Choi, MD: Primary Care— Greenwood, South Carolina

Vinh Dong, MD: Primary Care and Hospitalist— Swainsboro, Georgia

Rahim Fazal, MD: Hospitalist—Carrollton and Villa Rica, Georgia

Jalessa Graham, MD: Primary Care—Georgia

Lauren Holland, DO: Hospitalist—Sacramento, California

Alex Hoy, MD: Hospice and Palliative Medicine Fellowship—Bethesda, Maryland

Kevin Moriles, DO: Critical Care Fellowship—Orlando, Florida

Caroline Musa, MD: Primary Care and Hospitalist— Swainsboro, Georgia

Juan Vigo, MD: Hospitalist— Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

Manal Zafar, DO: Hospitalist—Georgia



Winners from the End of the Year Awards Ceremony

The following awards were determined by voting from colleagues and peers


Cardiology Attending of the Year: Amit Shah, MD

Subspecialty Attending of the Year: Padmanaidu Karnam, MD

Hospitalist of the Year: Amir Shirazi, MD

Intensivist of the Year: TJ Martin, MD

Faculty of the Year: T. Andrew Albritton, MD

Rotation of the Year: Cardiology

Intern of the Year: Christopher Ian Schrock, DO

Resident of the Year: Ummar Jamal, DO

Senior Resident of the Year: Jalessa Graham, MD

Outstanding Professionalism & Ethics: Alexandria Hoy, MD

Chief Resident Everyday Hero: Ummar Jamal, DO

Dr. Wayne Middendorf ICU Award: Juan Vigo Matos, MD

For more information about attending the Medical College of Georgia at the Medical Partnership campus

Learn More Apply Now