Medical Partnership Faculty & Staff Recognized

Medical Partnership faculty and staff gathered virtually Tuesday, February 22 to celebrate extraordinary employees for AY2021 (2020-21). Awards presented during the ceremony were: Medical Student Advisor of the Year, Excellence in Faculty Leadership, Excellence in Scholarship, Peer-Nominated Teaching Award, Faculty Mentor of the Year, Excellence in Teaching, and the Outstanding Staff Award.


Medical Student Advisor of the Year Award

The advisor’s achievement was assessed using the following criteria: exemplary academic support for students, exemplary career advising, specialty navigation and/or residency planning with students, and exemplary mentorship of students.

Dr. Scott Richardson


Excellence in Faculty Leadership Award

The leader’s achievement was assessed using the following criteria: established a collaborative environment for the team, used effective team management strategies, effectively used data to appropriately evaluate project/initiative outcomes. This role is nominated by faculty and senior leadership.

Dr. Lia Bruner


Excellence in Scholarship Award

Eligible faculty members must have shared his/her scholarship with national/international forums. Eligible types of scholarship include peer-reviewed publications, peer reviewed teaching repository, invited publications, books/book chapters, editorials, oral abstracts, and poster abstracts.

Dr. Ken Rosenthal


Peer-Nominated Teaching Award

Open to faculty who teach in Years 1-2. Criteria: effective engagement of teaching methods, effective communication while teaching, effectiveness of session organization

Small Group Teaching: Dr. Les Waters

Large Group Teaching: Dr. Amy Medlock

Clinical Skills/Community Health Teaching/Simulation: Dr. Tim Brown


Faculty Mentor of the Year

Eligible faculty members must have served as a mentor in the Campus Mentoring Program. Criteria: how your mentor helped mentee make progress for promotion and/or advancement, how your mentor helped mentee improve his/her research/scholarship skills, how your mentor helped mentee improve his/her teaching skills.

Julie Gaines


AY 2020/21 Medical College of Georgia’s Excellence in Teaching Awards

Forty-two Medical Partnership faculty members were honored with AY2020/21 Medical College of Georgia’s Excellence in Teaching Awards for their work with students.

Years 1 and 2 faculty members had to teach a minimum of six sessions and scored in the top 25% of teaching evaluation scares by students.

Years 3 and 4 are community faculty members in Northeast Georgia who scored in the top 15% of their evaluations.


Years 1 & 2

Dr. Casey Bassett

Dr. Molly Bond

Dr. Lia Bruner

Dr. Tresa Chappell

Dr. Thom Gaddy

Julie Gaines

Dr. DeLoris Hesse

Dr. Ellen House

Dr. Thomas Howdieshell

Dr. Carrie Kelly

Dr. Bob Mackin

Dr. Aimee Martin

Dr. Amy Medlock

Dr. Clive Slaughter

Dr. Brett Szymik


Years 3 & 4

Dr. Amy Bailey – Family Medicine

Dr. Shaena Blevins – Neurology

Dr. Anna Bunker- Peds Neurology

Dr. Robert Byrne – Urology

Dr. Fabien Chang – Pediatrics

Dr. Ruby Cheves – OB/GYN

Dr. Christina Elstad – OB/GYN

Dr. Mason Florence – Orthopedics

Dr. Eric Gordon – Orthopedics

Dr. Lara Hart – OB/GYN

Dr. Andrew Ke – Internal Medicine

Dr. Dan McAvoy – Family Medicine

Dr. Kathryn McCusker – IM/Peds

Dr. Angela McSwain – Neurology

Dr. Robert Meyer – Internal Medicine

Dr. Kelly Montgomery – Pediatrics

Dr. Eva Katherine Moore – Surgery

Dr. Alan Morgan- Neurology

Dr. Jonathan Murrow – Cardiology

Dr. Sarah Nuzzo – Internal Medicine

Dr. David Paulk – Psychiatry

Dr. Donald Scott – Internal Medicine/Geriatrics

Dr. Margaret Sherman – Pediatrics

Dr. Amir Shirazi – Internal Medicine

Dr. Thomas Sholes – OB/GYN

Dr. Jeffery Thomas – IM/Hem-Onc

Dr. Gary Walton – Urology


Educators of the Year 2020-2021

Selected annually every spring by each class of students at the Medical Partnership (Spring ‘21): Each class is polled to select the Educator of the Year and the results are compiled to select the winner.

Class of 2024- Dr. Bob Mackin

Class of 2023- Dr. Tom Howdieshell

Class of 2022- Dr. Katherine Moore

Class of 2021- Dr. Ellen House


Outstanding Staff Award

Recognizes a staff member whose outstanding performance contributes to the overall success of the Medical Partnership. Awardees should: model excellence and outstanding job performance, and consistently go above and beyond their job expectations in supporting the Medical Partnership

Zach Jones


2022 Years of Service

10 Years of Service:

Slavka Halper

Lynetta Jobe

Van Morris

Courtney Simmons-Dorsey

Brett Szymik


5 Years of Service:

Andy Albritton

Jo Albritton

John Autry

Lia Bruner

Matt Crim

Rene Mackay

Andy Morris

Ginger Nix

Neill Taylor

For more information about attending the Medical College of Georgia at the Medical Partnership campus

Learn More Apply Now