Internal Medicine Residency Program Graduates Sixth Class

On Friday, June 16, the sixth class of the Augusta University/University of Georgia Medical Partnership Internal Medicine Residency Program in partnership with St. Mary’s Health Care System celebrated their graduation at the University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education and Hotel.

The night began with a dinner buffet followed by opening remarks from Medical Partnership campus dean, Dr. Michelle Nuss.

“To our graduates, you should be so proud, and your families should be so proud. This is a major milestone,” said Nuss. “We want to make you the best doctors you can be when you leave this program, and we hope you feel good about the work you’ve done while here.”

Nuss was followed by Stonish Pierce, St. Mary’s Health Care System’s new president and CEO.

“Tonight, we are commemorating years of education, training, and preparation among 10 wonderful physicians,” said Pierce. “Always remember St. Mary’s Health Care System. S-M-H-S: seek solutions, make an impact, be humble, and strive to give back.”

Dr. Mohamed Alhajji, co-chief resident, is going to West Virginia University for a cardiology fellowship, and Dr. Rob Seminara, co-chief resident, will be staying at St. Mary’s Medical Group as a primary care physician.

Eight of the 10 residents from the Class of 2023 are staying in the South, including Drs. Vance Barksdale and Krishna Shah who will serve as next year’s chief residents for the program.


The Class of 2023

Taylor Attar, DO: Hospitalist—Norfolk, Virginia

Vance Barksdale, MD: Chief Resident

Sarah Brown, MD: Hospitalist—Norman, Oklahoma

Sydney Huggins, DO: Hospitalist—Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

Deirdre McDonnell, MD: Locums—Georgia

Eliud Pabon, MD: Hospitalist—Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

Niyanta Patel, MD: Hospitalist—Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

Nicolas Pham, MD: Primary Care—Georgia

Krishna Shah, MD: Chief Resident

Julia Zorko, MD: Hospitalist—Philadelphia, Pennsylvania



Winners from the End of the Year Awards Ceremony

The following awards were determined by voting from colleagues and peers.


Faculty Awards:

·      Cardiology Attending of the Year: Dr. Hiren Patel

·      Subspecialty Attending of the Year: Dr. Jeremy Anthony

·      Hospitalist of the Year: Dr. Andrew Ke

·      Intensivist of the Year: Dr. Ben Butler

·      Faculty of the Year: Dr. Andy Albritton

·      Rotation of the Year: Inpatient Medicine Rotation


Resident Awards:

·      Intern of the Year: Dr. Vinod Jeyaretnam.

·      Senior Resident of the Year: Dr. Eliud Pabon

·      Resident of the Year: Dr. Eliud Pabon

·      Outstanding Professionalism & Ethics: Dr. Juan Vigo

·      Chief Resident “Everyday Hero” Award: Dr. Sarah Rohrig

·      Dr. Wayne Middendorf ICU Award presented by Athens Pulmonary: Dr. Krishna Shah

For more information about attending the Medical College of Georgia at the Medical Partnership campus

Learn More Apply Now