Medical Partnership employees honored

Augusta University/University of Georgia Medical Partnership faculty and staff gathered in George Hall on Tuesday, February 27 to celebrate extraordinary employees for AY2023 (2022-23). Awards presented during the ceremony were: Medical Student Advisor of the Year, Excellence in Faculty Leadership, Excellence in Scholarship, Peer-Nominated Teaching Award, Faculty Mentor of the Year, Excellence in Teaching, Excellence in Teaching for Part-Time Clinical Faculty, and the Outstanding Staff Award.


Medical Student Advisor of the Year Award

The advisor’s achievement was assessed using the following criteria: exemplary academic support for students, exemplary career advising, specialty navigation and/or residency planning with students, and exemplary mentorship of students.

Dr. Ellen House



Excellence in Faculty Leadership Award

The leader’s achievement was assessed using the following criteria: established a collaborative environment for the team, used effective team management strategies, and effectively used data to appropriately evaluate project/initiative outcomes. This role is nominated by faculty and senior leadership.

Dr. Cathy Snapp



Excellence in Scholarship Award

Eligible faculty members must have shared his/her scholarship with national/international forums. Eligible types of scholarship include peer-reviewed publications, peer-reviewed teaching repositories, invited publications, books/book chapters, editorials, oral abstracts, and poster abstracts.

Medical Education Research: Dr. Ariel VanLeuven

Translational Research: Dr. Slavka Halper



Peer-Nominated Teaching Award

Open to faculty who teach in Years 1-2. Criteria: effective engagement of teaching methods, effective communication while teaching, effectiveness of session organization

Small Group Teaching: Dr. Kearney Gunsalus

Large Group Teaching: Dr. Brett Szymik

Clinical Skills/Community Health Teaching/Simulation: Dr. Jean Chin



Faculty Mentor of the Year

Eligible faculty members must have served as a mentor in the Campus Mentoring Program. Criteria: how your mentor helped the mentee make progress for promotion and/or advancement, how your mentor helped the mentee improve his/her research/scholarship skills, and how your mentor helped the mentee improve his/her teaching skills.

Dr. Lia Bruner



AY 2022/23 Medical College of Georgia’s Excellence in Teaching Awards

Twenty-eight Medical Partnership faculty members were honored with AY2022/23 Medical College of Georgia’s Excellence in Teaching Awards for their work with students.

Years 1 and 2 faculty members had to teach a minimum of six sessions and scored in the top 25% of teaching evaluations scored by students.

Years 3 and 4 are community faculty members in Northeast Georgia who scored in the top 15% of their evaluations.


Years 1 & 2

Dr. Deborah Barany

Dr. Casey Bassett

Dr. Molly Bond

Dr. Tresa Chappell

Dr. Jean Chin

Dr. DeLoris Hesse

Dr. Ellen House

Dr. Thomas Howdieshell

Dr. Farris Johnson

Dr. Brett Magner

Dr. Kim Rathbun

Dr. Donald Scott

Dr. Brett Szymik

Dr. Toby Tally

Dr. Melanie Wooten


Years 3 & 4

Dr. Amy Bailey- Family Medicine

Dr. Brent Crymes- Ophthalmology

Dr. Anthony Demarco- Ophthalmology

Dr. Albert Johary- Ambulatory Medicine

Dr. Miguel Jurado- Palliative Care

Dr. Catherine Lockhart- Neurology

Dr. Anitha Mathew- Emergency Medicine

Dr. Alan Morgan- Neurology

Dr. Jonathan Murrow- Cardiology

Dr. Kamal Patel- Psychiatry

Dr. Emory Patterson- Ophthalmology

Dr. David Paulk- Psychiatry

Dr. Fred Young – Ambulatory Medicine



Excellence in Teaching for Part-Time Clinical Faculty

These awardees must be part-time clinicians who participate only in Clinical Skills or only in Community and Population Health. They also must receive a quantitative evaluation score of five.

Dr. Mohamed Alhajji

Dr. Brett Atchley

Dr. Karl Barnett

Dr. Jon Marti



Educators of the Year 2022-2023

Selected annually every spring by each class of students at the Medical Partnership (Spring ‘23): Each class is polled to select the Educator of the Year and the results are compiled to select the winner.

Class of 2023- Drs. Ellen House and Clive Slaughter

Class of 2024- Dr. Lara Hart

Class of 2025- Dr. Scarlett Schneider

Class of 2026- Dr. Kimberlee Giffen



Outstanding Staff Award

Recognizes a staff member whose outstanding performance contributes to the overall success of the Medical Partnership. Awardees should: model excellence and outstanding job performance, and consistently go above and beyond their job expectations in supporting the Medical Partnership

Stephanie Vaughn



2024 Years of Service

15+ Years of Service

Gerald Crites

Thom Gaddy

Eve Gallman

Leslie Lee

Amy Medlock

Jonathan Murrow

Tina Powers

Scott Richardson

Clive Slaughter

Jen Stowe


10 Years of Service

Matthew Boegehold


5 Years of Service:

Kim Bosecker

Timothy Brown

Adam Evans

Zachary Jones

Miguel Jurado

Missy Kinney

Brett Magner

Michael Petzar

Kenneth Rosenthal

Scarlett Schneider

Amit Shah

Cathy Snapp

For more information about attending the Medical College of Georgia at the Medical Partnership campus

Learn More Apply Now